Socket A? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2005, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default Socket A?

Will an AMD sempron socket A work in a socket A motherboard that originally came with an Athlon XP2000+? and is the 2400+ sempron better for gaming than the 2000+?

• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383

It will work. Socket A or 462 is used for Athlon XP/Sempron/Duron processors that are designed for Socket A.

Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Capricorn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372

You might want to check the manufacturer for the latest BIOS if that board is a bit old. The board I was using prior to my current one started out with a max processor speed support of only an XP2000. A later BIOS upgrade took that to an XP2600.
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Your XP 2000+ will probably provide as good of if not better performace than the Sempron 2400+, an upgrade such as this seems pointless, especially for someone interested in gaming.

Stick with the Athlons.
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Yeah, your going to need something better if its going to be a UPGRADE. Why dont you get a 2800 XP, and a better mobo so you can OC it. This upgrade would only cost around 225$.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130

Just get a 2500+ and up the FSB to 200Mhz and you'll have a 3200+ barton core for 80 bucks
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Just get a 2500+ and up the FSB to 200Mhz and you'll have a 3200+ barton core for 80 bucks
Not if his board won't allow him to lock the AGP bus, inwhich it'll then be pointless to buy that CPU being that the only way he could OC is by raising the Multiplier which is pretty much guaranteed to be locked on that CPU.

Don't suggest that CPU unless you can give full details on what they need to OC it and what they should expect.

The XP-M's are the best overclockers with unlocked multipliers, low voltages and low heat, BUT you still gotta be able to lock the AGP bus.

Semprons are low end processors man. They are absolute crap.

They are the next step after durons. They aren't number crunchers and OC'ing would be next to pointless. If you're going to upgrade stick with the Athlon XP series (not to be confused with Athlons which is a completely different, previous gen processor)

Semprons are completely NOT for gaming.

If you can lock your AGP bus then your best bet is to get a 45w 2600+ XP-M , change the FSB from 133 to 200 in the BIOS and then up the multiplier for a higher clock speed if you so wish to do so

I suggest if you even remotely consider OC'ing an option then read the 'Basics to Overclocking' sticky at the top so you know what I'm talking about when I say AGP bus

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.