so i THOUGHT things were going well... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2004, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default so i THOUGHT things were going well...

I was checking to see if my P4 had hyperthreading enabled and running, and ran into another issue. Any suggestions are appreciated -

1 - Hyperthreading. It's enabled in BIOS. When I go to "Set Affinity" in Task Mgr, it shows Processor 0 and Processor 1. But under general system prop's, it only lists one. Shouldn't it list two here? Is there an official way to see if HT is working?

2 - FSB. I got the P4, 2.8 MHZ 800 MHZ FSB Northwood. I have DDR 400 installed running in dual channel mode. I ran Belarc advisor to check up my new system, and noticed the following...
>>>Board: Intel Corporation D865PERL AAC27646-210
>>>Serial Number: BTRL35003253
>>>Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
>>>BIOS: Intel Corp. RL86510A.86A.0061.P09.0308281850 >>>08/28/2003

200 MHZ!?!? Should that not be 800 MHZ? I thought if I had the DDR400, I'd be all set? What do I need to do to see that 800 MHZ, and is there another way I can check the bus speed, to double check?

Thanks!
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

To update the thread... I may have been mistaken, and I got all worked up before doing some research, hence the post...

I've put my stats here:
http://www.design-idea.net/images/Untitled-1.jpg

It is showing 800 MHZ (or close) FSB so I'm all set there. Now that those are up, anything easy I could do to bump performance, or something I may not have set correctly? I can't OC b/c it's an Intel board, but I just want to make sure I have everything set up and running up to it's potential.

Sorry for the psycho post earlier Panicked a little there.

Any thoughts/suggestions are welcomed!

Richard
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I think 200Mhz is correct cosz its multiplier with 4.
4 * 200 Mhz = 800 Mhz
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I have the same board and it is possible to overclock it slightly. In the BIOS, you have a menu that will allow you to OC up to 4% giving you 832 FSB 416 memory.
You can also upgrade your BIOS version by going to the intel homephage.
The current version is P19. Check here for updates and other software. http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scri...l&submit=Go%21
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I notice a lot of CPU's run just below what they are rated - for what reason I don't know
my 500MHZ P3 (yes I know it's slow) is actually 497.51MHZ
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

If you have an intel board, they slightly underclock it. In your BIOS, under advanced chipset, you can get your frequency to center instead of down. you then select continue and you will have the possibility to overclock it by 1 to 4%.
If you are unfamiliar with BIOS, you can also download the Intel Control Center from my previous post and do the adjustments from there.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

zerozero, i'm somewhat unfamiliar with oc'ing. I downloaded the control center, but can't seem to find what to change. any further details you could give would be great. 4% isn't much, but it's better than nothing. thanks!
regeisle is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I'm at work and can't recall off hand but I will let you know tonight when I get home.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

figured it outt going through the bios. booted up fine at 4%. is 4% anything I need to be cautious of? Close to idle, my temp is about 41C, same as it was before. Also, should it miraculously cause my processor to melt down, does it really void the warranty? I assume they have ways to check to see if you've bumped up that 4%. So basically, are there any reasons NOT to go to 4% if it's stable?

Thanks for the quick followups!
regeisle is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Nope. As long as your temperature is stable. It will probably go in the low 50's when you play intensive game like FarCry etc...
Haven't had any problems with mine and it's been up there since I bought it. I also have stock cooling on it so nothing fancy.
The meltdown is somewhere around 75 degrees so you don't have to worry. Your temp monitor will advise you if one of the temps goes over the limit even if you are playing a game (as long as you don't disable it).
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.