So-dimm = Sdram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Question So-dimm = Sdram?

I'm trying to look for more RAM for my laptop. I just opened it up, and saw that it can only hold one stick of RAM. It has a maximum capacity of 320MB, but they don't make a stick like that. So I looked for a stick of 256MB of PC133. All I could find was SO-DIMM, so I typed in SDRAM in keywords, and still came with the same stick of RAM, so will this stick of RAM work for my laptop, or am I out of luck because it's so old?

Here's a link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211124
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

That module should work just fine in your laptop. I would recommend updating the BIOS before install it. What make and model of laptop is it?
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 06:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

All the specs are in my sig, but it's a Compaq Presario 1200 series. It's about 4 years old. When I looked at my stick of RAM, it didn't look like it had the break in the middle, but I look closer tonight, and post a picture of it up.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Well it takes PC133 SO-DIMMs and the memory module you posted from NewEgg will work just fine. All SDRAM SO-DIMMs are the same size, so no worries.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Okay, well just to put the icing on the cake, here are the two pictures that I just took. I guess it does have the break in the middle.


Here's the other:


So the link to the RAM on newegg will work? I'll have to get that pretty soon then.. Thanks for all your help Crucial.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah that will work. sounds like your confused about the definition of so-dimm. so-dimm is the form that the stick comes in sdram is the actual type of ram
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
yeah that will work. sounds like your confused about the definition of so-dimm. so-dimm is the form that the stick comes in sdram is the actual type of ram
You are correct. When I first saw that on newegg, I was like, uh WTF? I want SDRAM. But I was also confused because my desktop has SDRAM, and I was also like WTF? But now everything is cleared up, and I think I will end up getting that.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

cool. good luck
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

SO-DIMM = Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module. Its a form factor, not a type of memory.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.