so can i... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2004, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Default so can i...

have the pc1066 in with the pc800?

2x 256's pc1066
2x 128's pc800

then it would have a very good amount of memory in it

*edit*
this is in refference to a previous post. this one:

"Ok. i know that this motherboard (dell) takes RDRam PC800 memory(its my friends). But i got a 2 256 modules of RDRam PC 1066 laying around and i want to see if it will take it.

i know (or i think i know) that i cant not have the PC 800 in at teh same time as the PC1066 but if i took the PC800 out and put in the PC1066, what would happen if it the motherboard doesnt accept it?

i want to see if it will work, but if it doesnt take it, whats teh worst that would happen?

would the memory just act like PC800 instead of 1066?"
*/edit*
__________________

MiGiT128 is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

yes, you can combine different speed memory, as long as your board supports them.

There is a downside though, the system will force the faster running memory down to the speed of the slowest memory stick.

So in effect you're gonna have 768 MB of PC800 memory.

I have 512 of PC800 in my system at home, and it runs just fine. So I would just add teh 512 of PC1066, and take the PC800 out completely.
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think that applies to SDRAM though, I have 3 diff speeds of SDRAM and they all run at independant speeds
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 07:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
Default

"Ok. i know that this motherboard (dell) takes RDRam PC800 memory"


that just kill both responces...
MiGiT128 is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 08:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

Quote:
I don't think that applies to SDRAM though, I have 3 diff speeds of SDRAM and they all run at independant speeds

This sound interesting what speed are they running independently and what board is it? Does it makes pc faster?
linux1880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.