SmartPower Vs. TruePower - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2006, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default SmartPower Vs. TruePower

i just want to no if there is any significant differences between these psus and which one do u recommned purchasing.
__________________

krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Antec?..

hmm... if I remember correctly, the SmartPower line is version 1.3 and TruePower is 2.01 compatible..

Here's a article about the difference between the two standards.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/12/...e_performance/

I apologize if I am incorrect about this. But, I have a vague memory that this is the case. Look it up and see if I am right or not.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 02:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

I think Smart power is a more effecient model and True Power is a little more performance oriented. Dam Marketers are making it so hard just to get a simple PS...
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by markkleb
I think Smart power is a more effecient model and True Power is a little more performance oriented.
What does this mean?

Efficiency IS a measure of performance. As something gets more "efficient" at doing something (e.g. more "productivity output" vs cost), it's level of performance is said to be better.

And both lines provide units with varying output wattage I believe. As I said before, I think it's the standards which they adhere to. I'd verify it, but I am in rush..
Chankama is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default

sooo. which one is better?
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

Silverstone!
but if you have to get a Antec get the Tru-Power. ( a lot of people here like the Tru-Power 550)

A lot of names are just marketing gimmicks to make people think one is better than the other.

I checked them and it turns out the Smart Power is no more effecient than the Tru-Power
__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

both are good
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Differences
SP has a fan in the back that turns on when it gets hot. Thats what makes it "smart". It has voltages in areas and is typicaly smaller in wattage than true power

TP is made more for the enthusiast as to where it has higher wattages and i believe SLI ready and all that nonsense. It also comes in a Blue LED form as well. I would get a true power.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

P.P. Mguire nailed it. smart power changes the fan speeds because the power supply is "smart". true power has a constant fan speed but it was made more for gaming computers that require more power like sli setups. i would prefer the truepower.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 02:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

It seems that the "new" SmartPower "is" 2.0 compliant. The old model was 1.3 compliant only. So I guess the compliancy of the standard that's not a difference anymore.
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article260-page1.html

Guess that's something to make sure IF you buy a smartpower. Not to buy an "old" smartpower that is only 1.3 compliant. I am not saying to buy either way since I didn't get a chance to read the spec sheets (smart vs true). But, if the cheaper unit is enough for your load, keep the money in your pociket. Guess you could consider other factors like Power factor and such as well.

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
mart power changes the fan speeds because the power supply is "smart".
Doesn't have to be that smart.. All it needs is a LM63 chip. The LM63 chip goes for about a $1 a piece.. Probably the most common fan modulation chip on the market right now.
http://www.national.com/pf/LM/LM63.html
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.