Is it smart to have 2gb ram in your laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2005, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to drindahowse
Default Is it smart to have 2gb ram in your laptop?

im gonna use my laptop to download movies,music,pictures etc. and occasionally play games, also download apz and surf the web.

i want to download and surf the web as fast as possible.

i have 512mb ram and i dont like it. i want to upgrade to 1gb or 2gb but, i dont know which one to get. money doesnt matter. i know 1gb is fast but whats the advantage of having 2gb of ram...does it make your downloads really fast? with 2gb, is computer freezing rare? will you be able to "feel' the difference between the two? whats your opinion of 2gb ram on laptops?
__________________

drindahowse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Many people have said to me, you hardly will notice the difference between 1 and 2 GB..

No, it wont make ur downloads faster - if you want that, get some high speed internet.. 10mb or so.. (Dunno where you live, crazy in some places..)

I dont think u will 'feel' the difference, from what ive heard anyway..

Plus, 1GB isbasicly saving half your HD budget..

I dont think its worth it.
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to drindahowse
Default

hmmm...i need another opinion
drindahowse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

stick with 512 if i were you. unless you do uber-multitasking, you will not really need 1Gb. downloading will only speed up with higher bandwidth internet, not more ram.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to drindahowse
Default

one more question, since i have ddr...

which one is better 2x 512mb
or
1x 1gb

is there a difference because i found the 1gb stick to be cheaper than 2 512mb.
drindahowse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Dual channel should always be quicker. Are these 2x512mb sticks sold together as a pack or are you buying two 512mb sticks separately?
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to drindahowse
Default

um im buying them seperatly...where can i get them as a pack?
drindahowse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Whether or not they say dual channel on them, or are sold together is really irrelevant. It's your computer that has to support dual channel for it to function that way. Any ram will run in dual channel if the motherboard supports it.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dean66
Whether or not they say dual channel on them, or are sold together is really irrelevant. It's your computer that has to support dual channel for it to function that way. Any ram will run in dual channel if the motherboard supports it.
Yeah, I know. The reason I asked was because of the price. A dual channel pack is often cheaper than buying two sticks separately.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to AmanteImperfett
Default

Depends on what kind of laptop you have drindahowse. I know with makers such as Dell and Gateway they manufacture their own type of RAM (usually the key is moved over so you have to go through them directly, or find a site that deals with them) If your laptop isn't made by anal companies then you could probably find a good pack at NewEgg.com. It's where I usually go an the prices are great. Maybe someone else has a better place though? I do know that if your mobo supports Dual Channel to definitely go with that. And I would suggest getting two stick of 512 in case one goes bad. Better to have to replace one 512 stick rather than an entire gig, in my opinion at least.
__________________

AmanteImperfett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.