Small Tweaks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2005, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Small Tweaks

Hi everyone!! wassup,

Well my Computer is a Amd Athlon 2800+ 2.0ghz ,512mb ram,
40gig,fx5500 video card and i was wondering if theres any thing i can do to improve it so i can play somes games like World of Warcraft. Actually, I just need the system to play World of Warcraft okay smoothly, buht acceptable to somtimes be a lil jumpy and skip a lil. I need small things to buy... ranging from 50-70 dollars.. Tryin to stay about 50.. Just some small tweaks to make my comp run a lil better.. I defragged, adware, oced.

foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:

Yeah..but it's summin you can't buy: Sacrificial solutions

Curiosity, what video settings are you playing the game at? I find that even on my FX5700LE, I have to force myself to sacrifice some settings, to gain performance.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Your processor can handle the game. Just your video card cant. The only thing you can do is get a new video card. You have 512mb RAM, is that 2x 256mb RAM sticks? Or 1 512mb stick?
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286

its 1 stick.... damn a new video card?... darn... i wish i had the money.. i was thinkin of ocing buht whenever i attempt to , when i play cs its all weird like random choppy images. Besides, BFG is already oced from 270 to 290. I tried 330 lol and i think it runs to hot. Anyways, do u think u can fix the settings to make a lil difference on WoW? buht not to dramatic to the point on were it looks like diablo 2 buht still smoothlyish. Thanks u guys
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx

I thought World of Warcraft doesn't need very powerful hardware to run.
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.