Slowest machine on forum - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2004, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Talking Slowest machine on forum

My PC is probably the slowest/oldest PC on the entire forum...

Know anyone slower???
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

wow that is pretty bad, sucks to be you man! jk
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, it sucks, but I'm not a gamer so it doesn't suck that hard...

I'm planning to buy an AMD 2000+ or something..any suggestions?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Up until last summer, when I bought an AMD XP 2600+, I had a Pentium MMX 233, 64MB EDO RAM, 4MB SiS Integrated graphics, and an ISA sound card. It ran Windows 95 and was slow as heck.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The only things I run are Winamp, Dreamweaver, e-mail, Browser, Antivir, Firewall and stuff like that....no games for me except minesweeper
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 12:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

haha, i got onto the forum with an old comp in my dads office

i just got the specs from it:

Pentium MMX 166 with a 66 FSB!!

it has a 32kb cache on a socket 7!

he has 128mb pc100 on windows 98 gold and 8mb ram
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Well if all you do is run apps like Minesweeper i guess a Athlon XP 2000+ or somethin near that and I think they run about 50-$60.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

P75!!! I dont acually use it, but i own it.
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

I still have my old 486 in the basement running at 33mhz and 16mb of ram.

Beat that.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

My uncle is a professional Database programmer and his home computer is a 133MHz something, he has finally asked me to build him an extremely fast computer (3.6GHz P4, 2GB Corsair etc.).
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.