slow scsi drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2004, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default slow scsi drive

I just put an ultra 160 card on here. got a 15krpm drive, brand new. i figure it would be fast as heck. i benchmark it, and its slower than my 7200rpm drive, ide shows around a 40mb transfer rate,a nd my scsi shows around 28. any ideas? i dont the basic, fast writes, cache, all the settings on the drive in device manager. Is there something i am missing?

Thanks
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah i think so, i couldent tell you. I was planing on getting one but i decide to go dual 10krpm hdd. Maybe you have your priority settings a little jacket up. Or maybe with the SCSI Adaptor software you can select rpm speeds.

I thought now you need a Ultra 320 SCSI Adaptor to run SCSI. Maybe the 160 is the problem.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

naw, they are backwards compatible. having a single drive, it wont matter if you have ultra 160 or 320. you only get a benifit if you are running raid so you can get more bandwidth. In order to use ultra 320, you have to have a 64 bit pci slot.ultra 320 would only be needed if you are running like 4 or more drives on a channel.Not sure how much feedback i will get in here because most ppl dont run scsi. my scsi card is the adapted 29160N, my drive is the fujitsu 36gb 15krpm 68pin MAS3367NP.
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

anybody plz?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 06:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

You know I wish I could give you some input here being one of the few who have SCSI, but man I am clueless, maybe you should invest in another adapter, thatd be my guess :/
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.