slow computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2004, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Default slow computer

i have alot of problems with my computer, firstly games run ok but not as good as i would want them to. could this be because my powersupply does not meet the requirements of my gfx card? (wott are the effects of underpowering?) also my ram is 512 and im wondering if i need to upgrade? also im full of spyware which im in the process of gettin rid of ...does spyware slow your com down alot? and could this be one of the problems. my specs are ...

geforce fx 5900
2.4 ghz p4
512 ddr ram
350w powersupply
__________________

thegame369 is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

well i mean it depends on your games. if u are playing new games then the ram might need to be upgraded and stuff. also just for safety, i would get at least 420watts of a good brand psu. like antec. then get rid of the spyware because spyware screws up the whole pc.

damn i better watch myslef, my posts are almost becoming as long as nubious's.
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Your computers specs are beyond "good" at the moment. Your PowerSupply is fine. The only thing that could be slowing down your computer is a possible virus, and defintely Spyware. Get Spyboy Search and Destroy, or Ad-Aware (what I use) and remove the spyware. Make sure your antivirus software is upto date and that you update your Spyware cleaners EVERY time you do a scan.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.ionmac.com/\">iOnMac.com - Apple website - Community Boards - Help us grow!</a>
<a href=\"http://www.ionmac.com/\"><img src=\"http://www.createdbyjessica.com/screenshots/80x15ionmac.jpg\"></a> GRAB YOUR iOnMac BUTTON!
Lasha is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

Spyware can absolutely KILL the performance of a PC.. Get spyware out and you will probably notice a marked improvement..
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yes spyware and adware run as background processes.. and if its one thing i know about xp is taht it eats up enuff ram as it is and a few processes runnign in the background that u dont need can just kill ur performance.. just use spybot search & destroy and adaware (use em both just to be sure) n scan a full scan of everything for viruses n what not and ull see a big performanec increase.. also itd also help if you went an defragemented ur system after u ran all the scans.. defragmenting helps a lot
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.