Single..Dual..Channels - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 06:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

And hygor wins the prize!

Couldn't have said it better. But yeah one stick of 1gb of RAM would be more expensive than getting a 512x2 gig kit, sooo theres no point in even debating the two really.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 06:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

And abotu the kingston ram, i was assuming it was PC2700 since you wanted to upgrade and i got my 2700 kingston value ram running at PC3200
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Ok well, I would spend around maybe $100..
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

$100-$150..
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

http://shop4.outpost.com/product/374...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Maybe something like this ?1
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

if u have a stick of 512 and a stick of 256 does it matter which of the two is in slot 1?
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

no because you can't run dual channel with that kind of stick setup, but if that's not what you mean then really it doesn't matter, but I suppose some people might say the 512mb first because it's bigger and it'd be better off for the system using that then jumping to the rest instead of trying to use 2 banks when it didn't need to
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.