A simple question about laptops - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to NickFury
Default A simple question about laptops

I work a company that refurbishes old computers and resells them, mainly Point of sales computers though. In about a week well be getting 250 - 300 laptops. These range from older (540 MB HD, 8MB RAM) to relatively new ( IBM T23 Notebook, 30 gb HD 256ram )

My question is what would be the easiest and fastest way to test these, they all are going to come with wiped drives. Is it possible to do a quick diagnostics scan w/o separately installing windows onto each one, which can take around an hour a piece.
__________________

NickFury is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Are you looking for a bootable tool that will basically tell you what the machines specs are?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to NickFury
Default

Yah that would help some. Im also looking for something that tests the devices (cd rom, sound card, floppy drive, etc.) are working properly.
NickFury is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Ok... Let me see what I can find.

In the past we have used private applications to do this.
Let me see what I can find.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to NickFury
Default

thanks that would help a lot, the only easy and fast way i can think of right now is loading one Hard drive with XP pro and just swap it into each unit.
NickFury is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Look around for the Ultimate Boot CD, it has a few diagnostic tools that are free to use, doesn't require an OS.
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NickFury
thanks that would help a lot, the only easy and fast way i can think of right now is loading one Hard drive with XP pro and just swap it into each unit.
That's not going to work. The reasons are far to complex to explain in this thread. But, believe me you can't install windows on a HDD in one PC, with all of that PC's hardware drivers... remove that HDD and install it into another PC and have it boot to windows successfully.

UNLESS.... Every single PC was exactly the same, hardware, bios, CMOS settings, device drivers... everything....

So i'll save you the time of trying it.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.