simple power consumption question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default simple power consumption question

If I used a 700W power supply for my new computer, but my new computer only needs 300 watts to run properly, then is it actually using 700 watts or just 300 watts? i hope that makes sense.
__________________

heffer is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: simple power consumption question

It should use less than 700W. But you can't be sure unless you measure it.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: simple power consumption question

power supplies always consume more than the sum total of the components they are powering due to the inefficiency of their workings. it should not be running at maximum power unless the components are drawing that much power.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: simple power consumption question

so if my computer only needs 300 watts, then would I save money on my electric bill by using a 500W PSU rather than a 1000W PSU? or would my bill be the same amount?
heffer is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: simple power consumption question

nope, the only thing that would matter would be the efficiency of the power supply. if they are both say 80% efficient then they would both consume 375w of power.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Time! Eaglez New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-05-2008 03:39 PM
Power Supply Question Shafra System Upgrades 5 09-20-2007 12:12 AM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
Incredibly simple question IfYouHaveToAsk Internet Software and Browsers 2 05-10-2007 11:36 AM
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-01-2007 08:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.