Silly question about power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Silly question about power supply

Just starter building my new system.

The only power connectors( 4 pin molex ) hooked up to the power supply is the fans as I wanted to see how noisy they are.

I have not even put the motherboard in yet.

When I turn the power supply on nothing happened ( I expected the fans to run )

Is this because everything ( motherboard ect.) needs to be hooked up before anything will happen.

Thanks
__________________

jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

yes the PS wont kick .On Older power supplies that have a seperate power switch you could test your fan circulation and noise with those .But they dont make those anymore.Ive robbed a few out of older systems to test things with.But you could wire a new PS to do this if you knew about Electronic wire diagrams
I wonder if using a Power Supply test tool would allow you to do it as well by plugging in the 24 pin socket to the test tool .You can pick one up at comp usa.Ive never used 1 so i cant say for sure.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default

I think I'll finish building it and see what happens
jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

The newer ATX P/S won't do anything unless you have a mobo attached to it. Like Cappy suggested you might be able to use a test tool.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.