silly question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default silly question

on a processor like AMD 3200, what does the 3200 stand for.
Same with graphics cards. Like geforce 5700 fx.
Also what is UG?
Sorry for the noob questions.
__________________

mdyoung23 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

I'm not sure they do mean anything...

I always hear that the 3200 is supposed to compare to the 3.2GHz P4 because the AMD processors have a smaller speed rating and to the average PC buyer if they have been told to look for a fast processor 'speed' they would usually go for a 3.2 P4 over a 2.2 AMD (or wat eva the speed of the 3200 is).

But I am probably wrong
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, just an indication of its performance. Not MHz.

I thnk the numbers on graphics cards (5700, 9800 etc) are just numbers. Could be wrong, tho.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

I would guess the 4000, 5000 etc numbers are for the series of the card, then you have the speed/memory rating in the hundreds for example 6600 is series 6? With something of it running at 600 :s while the 6800 is the same series but runs at 800 something...

As you can see I have no clue as to what I'm saying so I think its best I shut up now!
rememberme is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

ok guys thanks for the info. Guess it wasnt so noob after all
mdyoung23 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I thought that the first number is the generation, and the last bit was just a random number. as the 6800 has not got anything at 800mhz.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
I thought that the first number is the generation, and the last bit was just a random number. as the 6800 has not got anything at 800mhz.
True. The "6" means the GeForce 6 series. The "800" means the top card in the series.

With ATI, the "X" is roman numeral "10," meaning Radeon 10 series. So the X800 is essentially that Radeon 10800...
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.