Silly Floppy Drive! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2004, 05:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

do a multisession, even with the simplistic winxp cd burning thingo, you can burn one thing, then another and another, like a multisession
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 04:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Or use a re-writable disc.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 04:42 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

floppies always bugger up for me, every second one doesnt work, and the ones that does work has to be formatted
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 08:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

you can burn a cd with more than one session, so you can add more files later. I do the same thing with documents. You just have to set it up that way. I think its called TAO (track at once). I am sure most burning software supports it. Some also allow you to do this even if you didnt set it up like that.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:18 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

does anyone know why floppies always bugger up?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

but i know people who are forced to use floppies coz thier computer doesnt have a burner, or usb.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:03 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

WELL THESE PEOPLE DONT INVEST HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS INTO A MACHINE THEY ONLY BOUGHT FOR 100 DOLLARS OF SOME GUY AT A GARAGE SALE TO USE AS A TYPEWRITER BECAUSE THE TYPEWRITER THEY HAVE BEEN USING FOR THIRTY YEARS BROKE.

so do you know why floppies are tempermental and sometimes dont work, and how to fix that?????
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:10 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i just knew someone was going to say : just buy a burner,
but does nero run well on a 166mhz pentium mmx with 64mb edo ram?????
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 11:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, odd
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 12:08 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
does anyone know why floppies always bugger up?
I've never had a floppy-drive get messed up, save for when they're on crappy PSU's during power-outage problems, or when they've been struck by lightning.

Floppy-drives are just so simple, now, it's pretty tough to screw one up.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.