Silly compatibility question between mobo and vid. card.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Exclamation Silly compatibility question between mobo and vid. card..

Are these two parts compatible?

MSI K8N NEO4-F S939/NF4/RAID/GLAN/AUD/PCI-X
Ati Radeon X800 XL, 256MB 256BIT PCIE,VGA,DVI,S-Video out



I think they are... srry guys...just wanna make sure before i spend big bucks. Also, can someone reccommend me a PSU wattage? I think a 420W will do fine. Suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Mobo looks like it supports pci express, so I'd have to say yes.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You will need a 24pin PSU - make sure you check.

Depending on your other specs, but assuming 1 hdd and 1 dvd burner 420watts will be plenty. You don't want to skimp on your PSU - remember it is powering that expensive video card and you don't want that blowing up along with your whole system due to getting a cheap PSU.

Thermaltake is the cheapest PSU I would put in my system - and it is actually surprisingly good cause it is $50 for a extremly reliable PSU and the amps are good too. OCZ and Antec are better, but are pricey - worth every penny.


And yes, all Nforce 4 boards have PCI expess.

Might as well get this over with before someone else does, it may be worth having a look at the Nvidia's due to ATI gpu's lack Pixel Shader Model 3 support, so you won't get the eye candy you were hoping for in future games that require it - you will have to run in direct X8
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

I heard from a source that i will need a x800 at the very least becuase it has 16 pipelines, and that after the next gen games come out it wont be really outdated.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Check out a 6600GT or 6800GT instead.
woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.