*Sigh* I'm making the transition... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2005, 06:28 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

I still have a 16mb pci video card.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:34 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah considering Ultra quality was really meant for 512mb cards....I remember the 6xxx release news back in march of last year and they said "We will be having new 512mb cards out by summer" and here it is, a freakin year later and they are JUST now barely starting to show news of being released....that's kind of lame IMO, buuuut oh well.
I watched the 6800 release conference last (April/May kinda time?), and I remember the bosses saying that too... Now that the 512mb versions are finally seeing the light of day, GeForce 7 is due out in a few months ... Maybe they meant next summer.

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Atleast when i step up to the 6800GT I will be able to see it on Ultra settings although I doubt I'll actually play it like that unless it does infact run great. I've never turned Vsync on in any game though, I've never had an image tearing issue and it just slows framerate
It's my monitor's fault, mate; most of my games suffer from tearing if I don't enable Vsync. Without it enabled Doom 3 runs 90% flawlessley.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:38 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I watched the 6800 release conference last (April/May kinda time?), and I remember the bosses saying that too...
Yup that's the exact same video I saw, I know it had to have been. They were showing off that wooden ship firing cannons and saying "look how the ship sways when the cannon fires" and showing the mermaid chick and her flowing hair. They said an FX 5900 Ultra would only get like 3fps if it tried rendering that same scene, sounded nice an impressive back then.

I coulda sworn they said 'Gonna be released this summer!' either that or they just said 'released summer' so they could work around it and say 'nah we never said THIS summer' which is kind of lame.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:38 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I seriously think that is a VERY bad use of money. You would spend what, about $600 bucks for a new board and new vid card and get basically ZERO performance boost? Just sounds like a bad idea to me.

Save that money and spend it on something that will actually give you a boost. AMD is going DDR2 next year which will be another mobo change, RAM change, and I think (?) a cpu change due to the onboard memory controller (I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong). Also, both ATI and nVidia's next generation cards are right around the corner. Upgrades at that point would make sense, but not now IMHO
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

idiotec is right....

Maybe get the new CPU/Mobo plus a new video card when the next ones hit.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
I seriously think that is a VERY bad use of money. You would spend what, about $600 bucks for a new board and new vid card and get basically ZERO performance boost? Just sounds like a bad idea to me.

Save that money and spend it on something that will actually give you a boost. AMD is going DDR2 next year which will be another mobo change, RAM change, and I think (?) a cpu change due to the onboard memory controller (I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong). Also, both ATI and nVidia's next generation cards are right around the corner. Upgrades at that point would make sense, but not now IMHO
idiotec, this is what I'm debating lol

To put your mind at rest, it's likely that I don't upgrade right now, but as soon as the next gen of cards are due I'm off to the hardware shop to become PCI-E compatible, no question.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 06:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
To put your mind at rest, it's likely that I don't upgrade right now, but as soon as the next gen of cards are due I'm off to the hardware shop to become PCI-E compatible, no question.
Sounds good. I will sleep better knowing that
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 07:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

idiotec, out of interest what score do you get in 3DMark 05?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 07:19 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I haven't ran 05, but I im in the 12,000 range in 03. I think that has translated into the 4,000 to 5,000 range in 05 but I am not sure. I will have to give it a try one of these days.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 07:32 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Pretty sure you'd get 5500 in 05 idiotec.

Don't know if they'd require a CPU change for the memory going to DDR2 though, but seriously DDR1's life hasn't even run out yet. There's been numerous DDR1 modules hitting DDR2 high *** speeds with tighter timings.

We've been bombarded with hardware changes in this last year, it's killing anyone and everyons pocket. After I step up to this 6800GT I dread having to upgrade again because I know I'll basically have to buy a completely new system.

New mobo, new CPU, possibly DDR2 RAM, a new PSU, new graphics card......EHHHH
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.