Siemens TF3 Scenic Mobile 510 AGP -- acting up! Please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2005, 06:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy Siemens TF3 Scenic Mobile 510 AGP -- acting up! Please help!

Hello, everyone!

Here's a little story. My friend has a laptop, but few weeks ago the laptop started to malfunction. The computer would boot, showed the SIEMENS logo, the message: "For diagnostic screen press <ESC> for setup press <F2>" and then everything hung up. This friend of mine told me the problem started suddenly. He just restarted the computer one day and than he couldn't start the system anymore.

He gave the laptop to the people at tech-support and after few days they told him that the mainboard is fried (lol). He couldn't believe them so he gave me the laptop and told me that I can do with it what I want. Indeed, there was a problem just as I described. The laptop stayed at my house and I haven't powered it up as I was thinking what to do with it. Tonight, though, I powered it up just to see what happens one more time and then after the laptop displayed the mentioned info I heard a beep and the system started to boot . I did that a few more times during the next hour and than it stopped working again :/.

Please, does any of you know what might be the cause of the problem?
I'm looking forward to any replies.

Regards,
Black Dot.
__________________

blackd0t is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I think I might remove the hard drive and see if I can boot into BIOS. If I can, I might be inclined to try another HD. If not, chunk it.
__________________

mistercomputer is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I have the drive removed already, because people at the tech-support copy data from it. I managed to see how the computer boots just before it locks up. Here's what can be seen:

BIOS RELEASE VERSION 3D31
Build Time: 06/07/99 18:41:35
Notebook ID: 26607032
CPU = Pentium II 366 MHz
640K System RAM Passed
130048K Extended RAM Passed
0256K Cache SRAM Passed
System BIOS shadowed
Video BIOS shadowed
UMB upper limit segment address: E981
Mouse initialized

And then a lockup... I can't even get to bios when I press F2. It locks up just during the moment when it's supposed to get into the BIOS settings screen or boot the system.
blackd0t is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 10:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

because it's from Siemens...they are a bunch of money hungy bastards......
oh anyway,

did you try to reset cmos with the jumper?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.