shut down times - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Question shut down times

why does my computer take 30-40 seconds to shut down? its really annoying, especially is im just doing a restart.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

hm, maybe you have too many programs open? which windows has to shut down first...

or there are useless things in ur startup (start>run>msconfig>startup) which you dont use at all which waste time starting up and shutting down?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

no, i close down all my programms, and my startup is empty. also i got rid of everything i didnt need from the startup tab in ms-config.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

What should it matter?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

if i install some new software, and i need to restart, it annoying if i have to sit for 35 seconds, and thats just the shutdown! its crazy! what on earth can it actually be doing for all this time. if the proc can work out pi to 16k decimal places in less than 0.5 seconds, but cant even shut the pc down quickly... i dont get it.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

It's probobally saving all of the information on you're PC. I can't believe you're so impatient with a Shut Down time.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Jonc731
Default

My grandmother's pc takes like 30-40s to shut down too.

She has:
Duron 1.8GHz
256mb DDR266
14GB HD (slow rpm which is probably the problem)

She usually isn't running many pragrams, I just thin it is taking long to save settings because of the slow HD.
Jonc731 is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Yeah. The reason it's slow is because it's saving everything.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to regnak
Default

Ummm I had a problem with that too for a while. What I did was I went to C:\Windows\Prefetch and deleted all of the contents in that folder. The restart still took a while but when I shut it down after it had rebooted from me deleting it all it shut down at normal speeds.
regnak is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 07:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

It's quite normal for the process to take a while you know.

Parroting what everyone else has said: disable any apps that are loaded upon startup.

Check your pagefile/virtual memory settings too. Perhaps you have too much of an overflow into your HDD, which could be a reason why it takes so long for your OS to shut down?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.