Show off your hardware **56K** - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2004, 11:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

I'm not quite sure how you would do that, do you have a picture of your case? I'm sure that you could mount the fan then plug it in right before you close the case.
__________________

Erik is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 12:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

its a Dell 8200, with an added hard dive, its gettin hot in there so i want a new fan, and i dont no if youve seen a dell before, but thats how they open, i cant exactly show you an open picture of the cse, because im at school, and we have some thing that block Google Images
__________________

Mission is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 12:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Oh, alright.

I've seen a Dell before, we have four of them. But you should be able to add a fan...By the way, does your Dell even have room for another fan?
Erik is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 12:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

well i was intending on buying a PCI fan, GPU fan or a hard drive cooler...but most likely a PCI
Mission is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 09:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Hmm...Most PCI coolers have pass through wires. Which means you plug one end into your power supply and the other end to whatever you need, so you don't loose a connector.
Erik is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 02:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zero Shift
eh, your case isn't that bad. all it needs are some blue cold cathodes to brighten things up, or UV ones with reactive fans and cables to give it a nice glow.
http://mortalkombatdragon.com/chaola...rsite/pics.htm
wire management much

and in response to the picture in the first post:
Wow, is that what the stock AMD cooler looks like? How does it cool? What are your temps? I've never actually seen one b/c all my stuff runs other HSF's
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:58 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default

to lazy to send pic but will give specs:
Asus a7n8x-x
AMD XP 2400
Western Digital SE 80gb
ATi Radeon 9600 pro 256mb
2x512 mb Kingston pc3200
Sony 16x DVD
Sony 52x32x52 CDRW
Deranged_Monkey is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

yea, i bought an Antec PCI fan, im using it to cool my gpu for now, until i find a real good use for it...just another quick question...how hot is to hot? like when i touch the heatsink for my chipset or my gpu, its hot enough to hurt if i leave my hand there...so is that a sign for more fans? cause all i had before was a 92mm fan (out take)that has like a cone or duct that takes heat from the heatsink on my processor. since i added the fan(also out take) near my gpu, its no longer hot, but my chipset is...
Mission is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I'll take a pic of mine tomorrow for you, when I have gotten my WD Raptor installed.

atm i have lots of wires from my RAID
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:40 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

heres mine, I've since organized the wiring which looks really messy:


__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.