Should I get a Celeron for gaming?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2003, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333

For gaming, go with the fastest P4 or Anthlon that you can afford. Remember the Celeron is for budget machines.

3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4

well, i definately wouldnt get a celeron
i would go P4 or athlon
personally i would take an athlon

Nathino is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10

dun get a celeron...if u dun want to pay a lot, then athlon is cheaper
BadAndy is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33

well thats a fact !
but the celerons r not that hot as per as the games r cocerned
i u can get atleast P111 993 mhz that would be better performer
startec is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

you would be screwing yourself by getting a celeron or duron. if you do get it you will realize you did not really get a good deal after using it awhile.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788

Not really. If you want buy a nice celly with a high clock speed. which doesn't really mean a danm thing. but make sure it has 478pins(or the number closest to that) so you can upgrade to the p4 northwood core. Cellys are dirt cheap so wont cost you much. But its not bad, have a 2.4ghz celly in other comp however since its crappy 400fsb 128k cache its not great for gaming but can do a little
XT is offline  
Old 12-27-2003, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32

Go Althon and to let u know a 1.4 won't help you in the future games like doom3 and half life 2 will require much more.
cammm14 is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 12:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to illippinno

Originally posted by Lord Maly
well i have a budget, lol..... but could i possibly upgrade that later on in life to like a p4?
you can, but i believe celeron and pentium 4 processors have different sockets. that means, if you want to upgrade your processor to a p4, you'll have to upgrade your motherboard as well. in the long run, it will save you money to just go ahead with a p4, or like what others mentioned, athlons.

illippinno is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.