Should i do this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2004, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default Should i do this?

Well, I have a geforce FX 5200... it didn't come with a fan and it runs cool.... I have a fan laying around should I put it on because I want to try OCing my card a little bit.
__________________

ToKeN is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Well, the fact that the GeForce FX 5200 doens't have a fan shows how weak it is. I am not sure what kind of fan you have or what it takes, but if it fits and works, then I would go for it. Then again, I wouldn't have an FX 5200.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

Yeah, well i got it 1 year ago and it was "kind" of decent at the time. :P
ToKeN is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yes, I had an FX 5200 for a couple of hours in my old HP. Then I went back to my GeForce 4 MX because I didnt notice much of a difference at all.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The amount you're going to be able to overclock that card without it eating itself, is so minimal you won't notice the difference, so it's not worth it. I would suggest upgrading if you're running into problems.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

I know I can get the memory up 30 Mhz and the the core up a good 40.
ToKeN is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

You ain't gonna notice it, buddy. 30MHz on a G-card is n0thing. If you're really lucky, you might render at 1 frame faster than before. And if you're SUPER lucky, you might actually be able to notice that 1 extra frame.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Default

I went up by 30 and my points in 3dmark went up 200.
ToKeN is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Sounds like you already know the answer to your question.

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 02:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
I went up by 30 and my points in 3dmark went up 200.
Great. Awesome. You've managed to alter a statistical algorithm through a marginal-at-best increase. Wonderful. I'm really happy for you.

Now can you see that change at all in anything?
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

« Zalman | What tools »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.