Which should i choose? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default Which should i choose?

I recently thought of getting a ATI Radeon x800 as i dont have a AGP 8x, i dont think so anyway motherboard, i decided to go down a model. But i am still unsure...:

I saw in town a ATI Radeon 9800se (only 128mb one) for £100. I have no idea if SE is good or not and if its a sapphire, or whatever. I am wondering if you would recommend me buying the 256mb of Pro/XT edition or the SE? I don't mind too much about money but if its virtually the same then please tell me. Cheers

[It is a repeated question from a previous post but hasn't been answered so i gave it, its own topic]
__________________

Amidamaru is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Definately get the x800, the SE models are "downgraded" models of the Pro version.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Yes, but my motherboard isn't compatible with agp 8x transfers i dont think. There wouldn't be much point in me spending £300 if it doesnt even work to its full protential.

So SE doesnt stand for Second edition, ok fair enough. Thanks
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Since money isn't an issue, why not buy a new motherboard that does support AGP 8x?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

I don't want to reinstall everything all over again...
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 06:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Quote:
I don't want to reinstall everything all over again...
Never thought of that.....
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

dont you have a cd burner to back up all your stuff?
and if u do you will be all right, and if i were you i would buy the new mobo and then get a nice graphics card
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Ok then, If i was to buy a new "mobo" what would you suggest and the price? with some specifications please
Amidamaru is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

what cpu do u have?
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Not a very good one. The person who made my pc was crap. He put in a SiS 730S motherboard. I think anyway, ill soon see tomorrow when i open my PC up for the first time.
__________________

Amidamaru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.