Should I add an old hard drive to my new computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default Should I add an old hard drive to my new computer?

I have a brand new emachines computer with an 80 gigabyte hard drive and I was wondering if I should install the hard drive from my old Dell PC (5 gigs)? Also, my old HP PC came with a 5.25" hard drive (3 gigs), I took that computer appart a long time ago, so now i have the hard drive sitting around gathering dust and I was wondering if there was anything I could do with it since it isn't the normal size for a PC hard drive?
__________________

bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well u could wipe the 80 gig and wipe the 5 gig and install windows on the 5 gigs then make the 5 gig primary then just put ur main apps on the 5 gig and use the 80 gig as data or whatever the hell u want everything will boot very well like that
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I recommend leaving that 5GB out of your system. It would be especially risky to use it for your OS.

This 5GB HD must be pretty old, and has seen its fair share of wear and tear (haha, that rhymes). Now, if you go to put it in your computer, you run the risk of the drive dying on you sooner than would be a new drive or the one you already have. Imagine installing Windows on that drive, and it dies... That would be rather frustrating...
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
I recommend leaving that 5GB out of your system. It would be especially risky to use it for your OS.

This 5GB HD must be pretty old, and has seen its fair share of wear and tear (haha, that rhymes). Now, if you go to put it in your computer, you run the risk of the drive dying on you sooner than would be a new drive or the one you already have. Imagine installing Windows on that drive, and it dies... That would be rather frustrating...
Would there be any possibility of the 5 gigabyte hard drive hurting my computer? Because if it causes damage, my warrenty wonn't conver it.
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Nah. It wont harm any hardware, but it might hurt software if you put software/files on the 5GB and it fails.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to bartthecartoon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timmer
well u could wipe the 80 gig and wipe the 5 gig and install windows on the 5 gigs then make the 5 gig primary then just put ur main apps on the 5 gig and use the 80 gig as data or whatever the hell u want everything will boot very well like that
I don't have a Windows XP disk, and I was wondering how I can get it onto the smaller hard drive, all I have is 3 back-up CDs that I made when I first bought my computer. Will all of the software fit onto the 5 gig hard drive. Also can you give me exact step for installing it, so that I don't do anything wrong? P.S. it still has a lot of stuff on it that I want to get rid of including Windows 98. (the opperating system for the computer i want to install it on is Windows XP service pack 2.
__________________
-Intel Celeron D Processor 2.93 GHz
-1.25 GB Ram
-80 GB Hard Drive
-5 GB Hard Drive
-CD-ROM Drive
-CD-RW Drive
-External 3.5\" Floppy Drive
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
-Intel Extreme Graphics 2
-Logitech Wingman Force 3D
-Logitech Wingman Rumblepad
bartthecartoon is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 02:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

5gb hd is most likely slower... 5400rpm.. and your 80gb is most likely 7200rpm..but could be 5400... if it is slower than the 80gb.. then you might not want to use it for your windows since it'll probably take longer to load
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 09:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

this is true. either way the 80gb is almost guaranteed to work better than the old one. leave the old hdd out when you have an 80gb the extra 5gb is pretty insignificant. however in older systems setting it up in the same way i.e. 5gb for windows/apps+ secondary for storage is very effective
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Default

You can ghost your OS partition to the 5 gig drive and if your main drive OS fails or becomes corrupt you have an easy restore point. Otherwise it serves no purpose any more.
__________________

360Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.