This should be easy. Problems with my computer backlight. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default This should be easy. Problems with my computer backlight.

Okay guys, I need help.

I bought a Micro Innovations digital webcam a while back and it worked like a charm and then one day my screen went dark. I could still see a darker view my image in the daytime but at night it goes completely black.

I went and bought another Micro webcam and it did the same so I tested it on another computer. It works on other computers.

So it is not the webcam, its my computer. I went into yahoo webcam preferences and it has all my gamma/contrast etc.. options there listed but one is greyed out called the "Backlight". I'm guessing this is what has failed which caused my camera to be so dark. It says if I make it active I can change the option, but I can't find help anywhere else on the net.

Please help me!! Thank you so much.

Jess
__________________

MynameisJess is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to MeltedPanzy
Default

try reinstall the drivers
__________________

MeltedPanzy is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Is the backlight option greyed out on both your cameras? If it is, check to make sure the option is actually supported by your camera model, as I think it s fairly common to use one generic software suite for simiar cameras which may not share all the same features. Check on Micro's website, the FAQs page might be able to fix your problem.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah I've already tried reinstalling everything on my computer as well as others. Like I said, it works just perfect on any other computer.

I will check the FAQ and get back to you, thanks. If it's not supported, I don't know where to go from there either.
MynameisJess is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to the registry and see if you can alter the brightness from there
go to
HKCU\Software and HCLM\Software and have a look, otherwise do a search
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 06:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Guys, thank you so much. Problem is solved!!!

Have a great day
__________________

MynameisJess is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.