Short, random freezes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 03:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default Short, random freezes

My Compaq that is a litle over 4 years old is randomly starting to freeze often for about 10-15 seconds. This computer is used just by my parents for email and a little bit of web browsing so it isnt put under any stress at all. Also, one of the CD drives will not open. Are these freezes being caused by a dying power supply?

Im not really sure what is causing these freezes but hopefully you people can diagnose the symtoms and let me know whats going on. Thanks.
__________________

dbernie41 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am thinking spyware or virus's
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

bump

Please someone!
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

computer specs?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

P3 800 mhz
256 PC133 ram
40 gig hd

need anything else?
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check for spyware like stated above. do an online virus scan, too if you have no virus software... just google trendmicro housecall
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 08:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

I have Spy Sweeper by Webroot. Has anyone heard of it? I havent installed it yet so I guess I will give it a try.
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 08:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

You could test your power supply idea by finding a different psu to test it with. It sounds like a weird problem with you cd drive and all.

Do a virus and spyware scan. That should be your first step when having a problem.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 12:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

spysweeper is good, do u have 3.0?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Default

What about the CD-ROM? Does a CD-ROM icon show up under My Computer? If so, and the CD-ROM drive is damaged or mis-connected, Windows might be attempting to glace at the status of the drive and then gets confused because it isn't working properly.

If you know enough about the insides of a computer, I'd recommend trying to run the computer without the CD-ROM connected to the IDE for a while (make sure any other drives using the same cable are configured as necessary). If the computer works without any problems once the CD-ROM's been disconnected, that's the problem.

Spyware or a virus is, of course, a possibility, so I'm not ruling that one out either.
__________________

endersftd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.