Short in Power Supply? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2004, 11:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

... Doesn't sound like a good situation. Unfortunately, like I said earlier, laptops are a proprietary item and Dell is the only company that can replace any parts on your laptop unless a 3rd party makes parts for your particular make/model and if they do they probably won't be much cheaper than what Dell sells the parts for. This is something people who own laptops have to deal with unfortunately as no standard for laptop casing/parts has been set (hopefully some day in the future somebody will create a standard for laptops, that is the day I will buy one lol). If you could manage with a desktop PC I'd just buy one of those.
__________________

__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:54 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

cool, thanks guys.... im gonna try replacing the battery and if that doesnt work ill just transfer the data to a new hard drive and say goodbye.... does anyone know what 512 ddr chips go for these days?
__________________

WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

A great website for purchasing ANY computer related items is www.newegg.com. Good luck.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

One last thing, if anyone is still looking at this post. I replaced the power cord last year due to damage from the cord being folded. I'm sure you know how that goes. Currently, the computer registers the AC cord, and the light on the adapter is on, meaning it is both receiving and sending electricity. Would you suggest that I replace the battery, and if that doesn't work call it quits? Or would you suggest replacing the cord as well? i'm pretty low on cash right now, and I am looking for a personal opinion. I KNOW the battery needs replaced, and a friend said that if the battery acts as a circuit for the AC power, and the battery is near-dead (as in not holding a big charge) that my problem might be that simple. Opinions?
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

Also, the computer turns on without the battery in it, so long as the AC is plugged in, but I am sure it would shut off anyway. Man Im confused.... *sigh*
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 42
Default

my cousin had a similar problem with her laptop.. it was a crappy batery/ crappy power cord mix.. what you should do is try taking the batery out and just running the laptop on just ac if your laptop permits.. check you power cord for damages because as far as i know even the worst bateries even very old as long as ther not damaged should hold a charge for at least a few seconds... and a ac is cheaper than a batery so i would purchase that first..
__________________
Dell 2300
intel P4 1.8
640mb sddram memory
128mb pci 5200 vid card
crappy dell mobo w/ no agp slot !
Elite0ne04 is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

hrmm.... so I wonder what the experts would think if it turned off with the battery out just running on ac? come on guys! =)
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

and the battery only holds for about 20 minutes anyway
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 01:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

okay, this time the compartment where the RAM is was warm/hot
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 01:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

and i didnt use the battery, but it shut off...
__________________

WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.