Short lockups during games / overheating? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, you cannot cool something any cooler than the air that is blowing onto it.

isnt there an option to change how often speedfan updates the temp reading? maybe the temp rocketed, but just wasnt shown? it seems hard to believe that the temp never moved with the cpu fan off, regardless of case fans.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Use Rivatuner to monitor the GPU temp. It creates a temp graph, so after you have ran 3Dmark or played a game for a while to heat it up, you can go back over the graph to get your true load temp.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

speedfan can do that. if speedfan possibly has a wrong temp, so will rivatuner.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah -- I used RivaTuner as well. The graph showed a sustained GPU temperature of around 70C while playing far cry (for about 10 minutes).
desau is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

It's time to move to Alaska or possibly antarctica. You're lack of AC in the San Fran heat is kicking your PC's ***.

If you search on google you'll find tons of articles about large LAN PARTIES where there was no AC available and tons of people have issues with overheating. It's a sad part of gaming PC's. The more power they have, the most heat they dissipate.

If you can't have AC in your house, may-be you should consider liquid cooling for your PC.

Or a move up north might help... lol j/k
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

heheheheeh. yeah .. liquid cooling is quickly climbing the charts of how to solve my issues. I just didn't want to spend the $400 for it..
desau is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

just buy one of those cheap air con units, and put it by ur pc.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Or a move up north might help... lol j/k
Shoot just move into the City. I am guessing if its 85, your East Bay, am I right Shoot the City rarely gets over 70F
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Santa Clara. Not really East bay, but it still gets hotter than the peninsula.
__________________

desau is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.