Setup for work laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2015, 11:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Setup for work laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Or like I mentioned already, can easily get USB to HDMI
Yeah but then it's using a tiny GPU on the USB adapter...and not really necessary if he already has outputs on the laptop/dock for DisplayPort. Might as well use the GPU power the laptop already has rather than try to output through USB. The DP->HDMI adapters will be much cheaper than USB video adapters as well.
http://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-...ayport+to+hdmi

My friend had bought a USB video adapter so he could have more monitors at work on his laptop than it would support...and it was around $60 or so for 1 (if I remember correctly).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Setup for work laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yeah but then it's using a tiny GPU on the USB adapter...and not really necessary if he already has outputs on the laptop/dock for DisplayPort. Might as well use the GPU power the laptop already has rather than try to output through USB. The DP->HDMI adapters will be much cheaper than USB video adapters as well.
Amazon.com: Cable Matters Gold Plated DisplayPort to HDMI Adapter (Male to Female) with Audio in Black: Computers & Accessories

My friend had bought a USB video adapter so he could have more monitors at work on his laptop than it would support...and it was around $60 or so for 1 (if I remember correctly).
Yeah I guess the price different is a major factor... I guess its upto the OP but atleast he knows his options now
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Setup for work laptop

But im trying to find a way to switch between the desktop and then laptop without having to unplug the HDMI cables from desktop to monitors and then having to plug in from docking station to monitors. The Dell monitors only have 1 HDMI port :/
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 12:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Setup for work laptop

Sorry, missed that bit.

You'd need an HDMI switch in that case.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 07:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Setup for work laptop

What type of HDMI switch would I need? I seen some online, but doesnt look like they would work with my scenario.
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop Power adapter doesn't work when laptop is on. But it charges the battery when laptop is off TheSkyIsTheLimit Laptops and Notebooks 7 07-23-2012 02:10 AM
Windows XP Setup Restarts the Setup Program When Your Computer Restarts Jon_M63 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 03-16-2010 07:40 PM
Make Win Setup-Disk that also installs applications during setup Xenesis Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-26-2009 06:39 PM
Cooling setup that includes Heat Pipes, Peltier and a liquid setup. enGRAVEr Overclocking and Modding 2 07-08-2005 08:43 AM
Setup Not complete. Please Run Setup Again error WillyWonka Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-23-2004 02:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.