Setup of HDDs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2007, 08:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Question Setup of HDDs

I have 2 HDDs, XP OS on 20GB HDD and a 320GB for storage of everything else.
I have this setup due to previous upgrade of PC and recent HDD crash, it seems so sensible to use one small HDD for OS, and another larger one for all storage, easy to insert into another PC.
The only issue is that I was using an 80GB HDD for OS until it mysteriously crashed, failure mode unknown. Now using the 20GB HDD for OS, my PC is very slow, likely as it is a very old HDD, approx. 8-10 years.

Can anyone recommend a superior (quicker & safer) method of utilising 2 x HDDs for OS and storage?

Will HDD partioning help? Surely if HDD fails, it is likely it fails as a unit?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Setup of HDDs

First you can't split an OS across two drives. If you want a two drive system the best advice is to replace the 20gb with a newer larger and faster model for the OS and maintain the 320gb for storage.

Many like the idea of custom installing softwares onto a second drive or partition while not a good idea. If the host drive fails you still have to reinstall everything all over again to see new registry entries created.

Once a drive fails simply toss it unless you need files rescued from it. That's where the professional data retrieval services make their money. Partitioning tools are for preparing a drive for use or modifying it for things like multiple partitions and multiple OSs.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Setup of HDDs

Yeah thanks, agree with that.
My only problem is that I want a new small fast HDD just to run the OS, but you don't get such a thing!!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Setup of HDDs

With the prices on drives having come down over the last few years you can grab a good sized drive to allow room for additional softwares and still not pay a high price. A WD 40gb ATA100 ide drive goes for $38.99 at Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar WD400BB 40GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM and that's a small drive with 80gb models seen for a few only a few dollars more.
eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Useful list of Linux websites. tribalsun Linux and Open Source 39 03-22-2015 04:54 AM
How does one setup RAID SHaTTaFaKKaP New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-31-2007 12:13 AM
Setup could not reinitialize deployment engine????? Mechtech3000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-16-2007 11:48 AM
Network Setup joey1 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 07-12-2007 11:18 PM
Lost Boot setup D.Arbib Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-10-2007 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.