Setting Up a Wireless Internet Networks. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2004, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Setting Up a Wireless Internet Networks.

Ok, I One computer Right now thats connected to broadband (Cable)...

So, how would I go about having this computer giving two other computers internet connection wireless. Do you guys know of a link that can explain this if you don't want to explain it. I can get the MicroSoft's Wireless base Station MN-700 but what a Wi-Fi card that I'd have to get too for the computer to pick up the signals?


NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to ccskorn

you probably would have better luck in the networking forum, but I have a wireless network in my house with just two computers and a laptop. I'm using linksys products, and it is pretty self explanitory on stting it up. Check out, they have a FAQ section I believe that shows you how to set one up.

My Rig
- Antec Sonata Case w/ 460w Enermax Whisper II PSU
- Abit NF7-M Motherboard
- AMD XP 2500+ Barton w/ Thermaltake Silentboost HS/F
- 1GB PC3200 Corsair XMS Series
- Geforce 6800
- 80GB Western Digital Special Edition
- NEC DVD+-RW Drive
- Windows XP Pro
ccskorn is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256

you may also want to try some of the US Robotics 100 Mbps products. I bought mine from, 40 bucks for the router post-rebate, 23 bucks for my pci card. on the other side of my house, on a different floor, through maybe 5 or 6 walls, i get a "Very Good" or "Good" signal all the time. Computer tells me it is connecting at 54 Mbps, but it is going faster than my hardwired computer ever went. When using my wireless network to transfer files directly over the wireless network, from one computer to the other, i have gotten speeds well in excess of 1 MEGABYTE per second. Excellent products.

<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
knuckle50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.