Setting up Winxp on Sata drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 10:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Setting up Winxp on Sata drive

I am trying to do a fresh install of winxp pro SP1a on my Maxtor serial ata drive. However it just can't see the drive when it gets to the installation screen. I have tried installing third party drivers, from my mobo disc and website, by pressing F6, but it has no effect. I am running dry of ideas to what is going wrong. I am using an Asus K8V SE mobo. I did hear that oem discs of xp(am using one) don't work with some sata drives, don't know if it is true though. Please help Thanks
__________________

drazpaz is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks. Do I just install these using the F6 option on setup?
__________________

drazpaz is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You need to install these drivers for the South Bridge (VT8237).
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You need to extract the drivers onto a diskette first.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default

But the drivers in this file are for setting up raid configurations. I only need to do a clean install on one sata drive?
drazpaz is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Those drivers will work for a single SATA HDD (on native channel), as well as a RAID configuration.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default

I'm sorry but i'm having a bit of a problem. When I run the installer it just installs it to my pc. What file do I put on the floppY?
Attached Images
File Type: gif desktop.gif (57.6 KB, 7 views)
__________________

drazpaz is offline  
Closed Thread

« Help | Odd question »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.