Servers - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 12:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

OK, so you are sure that the max that would be able to run is 6 servers?


Also, do you know what would be cheaper.

Renting a dedicated server , or

Buying a dedicated server and giving it rackspace with a 100mb connection
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Renting a dedicated server.

BTW my server is #2 in the world now.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 12:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

do u happen to have xfire / msn or something where I can talk to you more? Just wanting to be 100% sure before going with anything.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah, click on profile to get it.-----------------^^
The General is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 04:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

added
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 04:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I'll be on at 5pm pacific time, or around then. I'm at work right now, so yeah.
The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Hey, update on server specs.

Spec:

Intel Pentium D DUAL 3.0Ghz Presler (4MB L2 Cache)
2GB PC3200 ram


How many servers do you think this could handle?
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

4mb L2 Cache? Wow.



Let's see, well I know for sure that you can run 6 or 8 20 slot WolfET servers.

I don't know much about CS:S servers or how their tick rate works, but I assume 33 tick rate is unplayable.
The General is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 01:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Yeah, it has to be 66 tick or 100 tick.
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.