Seriously XP vs. 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default Seriously XP vs. 64

Honestly guys, please tell me what is better for the dollar.

1.)Is it worth the extra $100 or so for the AMD Athlon 64's? Why shouldnt I save money and get a XP?

2.)How much is the performance difference between the two?

3.)When are the 64-Bit Microsoft OS's coming out? I know there is a linux one.

4.)This computer I am building will be for gaming.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

I know that the 64 bit version of Windows XP is in the beta stage and has been put on hold until sp2 is released.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

so...is the coming in a while?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 03:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

It is definatly worth getting the AMD64. When 64-bit becomes available (any time now), you will get 30-50% more frames in your games (games must be 64-bit compatible). The AMD64 also offers a 1600 Mhz FSB... and overall more power!...!

I would say take the XP if u weren't a gamer, but if u plan on doing some heavy gaming... AMD64 is the way to go!
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 04:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

1600 FSB??? holy sh*t .. WHY DID I GET A INTEL 2.8 THAT HAS 800 FSB????
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
1600 FSB??? holy sh*t .. WHY DID I GET A INTEL 2.8 THAT HAS 800 FSB????
Cause obviously you didn't do your homework or weren't paying attention


The AMD64 is defiantly worth it for gaming, because the onboard memory controller makes the difference
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
1600 FSB??? holy sh*t .. WHY DID I GET A INTEL 2.8 THAT HAS 800 FSB????

Cause it's better?
Wartorment is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

probely
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wartorment
Cause it's better?
I dont want to start a flame war
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Just for the record. The 64-bit version of XP isn't going to be available to the public (through Microsoft ) until 2006.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.