serious problems... out of ideas. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default serious problems... out of ideas.

I'm running:

Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
2.0gigs of corsair performance ram
Windows XP Pro SP2
BFG NVIDIA 6800
on PCI Express 16x
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2S

now, with these components, this computer should be BLAZING fast. In many instances, it is. However, randomally, i lose about 10 frames about once a second. Now, you would think, oh your running programs and resolutions and qualities that it cant support without chunking. i have tried every game i own on low and high resolutions with high and low grapics settings and i still get the chunking. occassionally, i even get chunking in windows. the mouse will stop for about .1 seconds, and then jump. its always the same pause, as if almost on a timer.

things we've tried:
1. tried barebone w/o soundcard, extra gaming port (joystick, midi input, etc)
2. tried different RAM
3. tried same and different RAM in the A slots
4. tried different input devices
5. tried all drivers, old, new and beta for
a. sound
b. graphics
c. mouse

havn't tried a new vid card, gonna do that now.

so we're stumped... it's very difficult for us to pinpoint this problem because the entire system gets "the glitch" as we've dubbed it. sound, mouse, graphics, everything... gets this pause. it doesn't seem to be a graphical ineptity, since there are non-graphic side effects too, such as the sound pausing at the EXACT same time.

The only ideas i have are bad motherboard, bad chip, bad video card (maybe, but sound glitching also seems to disprove that one), bad ram... yea i'm outa ideas. any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

PolarNature is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

I would assume you have tried reinstalling windows? (if not, do that, but try my other suggestions first of corse....) also, I assume you have anti virus/ani spyware? if not, get AVG free edition and get spybot search and destroy. (search for both on google) download them, update both and scan with both.

sorry if it sounds like I think you may be a super noob, because I dont really nessisarlt, but you didnt specify.


try rinning your game with your computer started up in safe mode?
is it only slow in one game? or is it all games? do you get that pause while not in a game?

Im assuming your videocard isnt overclocked .

try running your game with your computer started up in safe mode?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

havn't tried re-installing windows.. sort of a last resort. I've done anti-virus and spyware scans.

i couldn't think of a game i could run in safe mode cuz of the lack of drivers. i'll try that now.

all temps are normal, actually quite cool for the components. and if it were the temperatures, i would be able to cause the issue.

also, i can force the issue to happen. i'm in CS, i hit a mouse button that isn't assigned. it kicks me out to windows and askes me to assign the key, then i alt-tab back into CS and it chunks. I can alt tab BACK into windows, and then windows itelf chunks... the mouse, everything.
PolarNature is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Which graphics card do you have?

If its not that it is mostly likely your hard drive or lack of ram.

Write your system specs
turtile is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
Which graphics card do you have?

If its not that it is mostly likely your hard drive or lack of ram.

Write your system specs
Quote:
Originally posted by PolarNature
I'm running:

Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 3800+
2.0gigs of corsair performance ram
Windows XP Pro SP2
BFG NVIDIA 6800
on PCI Express 16x
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2S
__________________
-Tom
Eagleboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.