Serious Monitor Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2004, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default Serious Monitor Problems

My computer will not recognize the monitor and all I get is " Video Cable Connected", however nothing else shows on the screen. This all started after I loaded Stop Zilla and restarted the computer. Now all I get is the black screen with the above phrase.
I jknow my monitor is Not the problem because I hook it up to my labtop and it shows fine. I'm thinking that someway im missing a driver, but without being able to view the screen i'm totally loss. Is their something that I can do to get my computer back running. This old 233MHZ is not getting the job done. The puter with the problem is HP 8776C. Need help fast:
Thanks: David
__________________

DTL504 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Take the monitor cable from the Video Card slot, and attach it to the normal computer slot. Then you can atleast see what your doing. Now install your video card drivers, reboot and put the cable back in the video card slot.
__________________

BlackmanOne is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Maybe i'm missing something but the video card slot is the only slot that the monitor will hook up to. I dont see any other slots. The monitor cable has male connector with the video card being a female. However all the other connector on the computer is male pins and the monitor cable is a male pin:
DTL504 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 06:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

What the hek is Stop Zilla ? . I m assuming that your mobo has only a PCI Video slot or does it have an AGP ? Try reseting your CMOS . Theres realy not much you can do if you cant even navigate in your bios .Theres a few things you can try .But we really need more info on your system .Especially what type mobo you have . I wont comment on some sugestions untill i no what type of mobo you have .That would only cause more confusion .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Here is what I have:
AMD Athlon 1GHZ Processor
256 MB Ram
60 GB Hard Drive
DVD Rom
Dvd RW Rom

How can I reset the bios if I does not show anything on the screen? Rest asure I'm not a computer wiz, so please you lame terms and step by step direction.
Thanks: David
DTL504 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Does your computer power up? Do you see any lights on the Num Lock, Caps Lock Etc?

Do you hear beeping when your computer runs its POST (Powe ON Self Test).

If you don't get any response from your PC, try re-seating the RAM or the CPU. (After preperly grounding yourserlf)
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 01:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

What we need to no is what type of mother board you have .
Is this a Gateway or Dell ? if so look for a sticker on the side or rear with a serial number .Then go to the Manufacture website and find out what MB you have .Or remove the left side panel and look for a logo on the motherboard such as MSI , ASUS etc ... with some numbers and tell us what you have . So we can come up with a troubleshooting solution possibly .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

is the vid card intergrated? More than likley, you get power but no post or a dbl beep. Sounds like you need to crack the case and reseat the vid card. Just watch for ESD. Its doubtful the program caused the problem, just bad timing is all. Anyhow, when you turn on the power if you get ONLY the monitor is working fine, please check connection or some sort, and get no post screen (showing system type, speed, memory, drives, etc kind of looks like dos), then the culprit is the vid card. Driver has nothing to do with it, its physical. Just open the case, find the vid card, take it out check the connectors and the slot for any foreign objects, blow in it if need be, and reseat. Make sure its firmly in place. Again watch ESD and make sure the system is unplugged. Then when the vid card is reseated, hook the monitor up and restart. If its intergrated, or if multiple reseats (yes, you do sometimes have to do that, so dont screw the case together yet, you may need to do it again), if none of this works or its built into the mother board then unfortunately it sounds like A: If intergrated bad chipset. You can either replace the chipset (good luck! Get a chip extractor) or, and this is more likley the case, replace the mother board. B: If it has a stand alone vid card, you'll need to get a new one. Make sure you get the right kind, IE if you have no AGP slot, make sure you get a PCI card, and assure its NOT just an accelerator.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Default

The motherboard is a A7V-VM. From what I have found on the internet this is made by ASUS.
Hope this help...

Yes, the computer power up, I can hear the beeps, and the keyboard lights up, but the monitor is a black screen w/ the Phase " Monitor is connected" in blue writing.
The computer do not boot up the windows screen and I know it's the computer because im using the monitor now to post message using my laptop.
DTL504 is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Drivers wont help. Reseat the vid card.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.