Serial Cable..... How long can the signal go? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Serial Cable..... How long can the signal go?

How long can a serial cable signal port go?

I am currently setting up some Cash Register System where I need to send a serial signal from a cash register to a back office computer. They are about 40 meters apart.

Can this be done?


Is there any ways that we can get a serial signal to go down some thing like CAT5 Cable?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

After doing some googling, I have found the following :-
http://www.a***eninstruments.com/Sup...ndex_pg2.shtml

Quote:
DATA RATE MAX DISTANCE
19200 bps = 15 meters
9600 bps = 25 meters
4800 bps = 50 meters
2400 bps = 100 meters
1200 bps = 200 meters
600 bps = 400 meters
Basically for my job, I am going to need to hope that hardware does 4800 bps communication.

However it still remains the question of sending a serial single using some thing like a cat5 cable. I really do not want to be joining 2 20m serial cables together.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Well, the link's broken because of the broken profanity filter.
The General is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Does this help?

http://www.google.ca/search?num=100&...G=Search&meta=
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I was under the impression that RS232 signal could travel about 85m at 9600. I have managed that successfully. I use cat 5 cable which is connected to a card reader at one end using terminal blocks (or the such like) and is then terminated into a 9 pin serial connector on the other.
If you want to be 100% certain (i would try the first way first), then you will need to invest in a RS485 converter. This is good for around 1000 - 2000 meters. You need to wire this as above, just including converters at either end.

Ratafia
ratafia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.