Serial ATA problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2004, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default Serial ATA problem

Ok here is my problem. I'm upgrading all my parts of my computer and I have the following items, but I've run into a snag.

A7V600 Mobo
Athon XP 2600 CPU
WD 30 Gig Hd
Hitachi Deskstar 160 Gig SATA Hd

Problem: Since I have a Parallel ATA Hd with my Win XP home I need to use this to get access into my computer. I've put the SATA Hd on SATA port on the mobo. I have the latest Raid controller along with the latest bios from ASUS.

For some reason the VIA Raid Tool recognizes my Hitachi Hd, but for some reason when I open 'My Computer' the Hd is not listed, but is listed in the 'Device Manager. This is frustrating. I want to clone the old Hd to put it on the new one so I can only have one Hd in this computer and use the other ones I have to put into another computer with the old parts and use it as a file server.

Does anyone know why this happens. Any help would be appreciated. I should have bought another Parallel Hd instead. What a pain.

Thanks.

Forsteen
__________________

Forsteen is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

By the way, can someone explain to me the difference between
S-ATA and IDE HDDs? Thanks~
__________________

lavenderAC is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Nobody has seen this?
Forsteen is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

serial ATA has a larger bandwidth than PATA (IDE) 150 MHz vs 100 or 133 for Ultra ATA.
Here is one way to solve your problem.
Remove your IDE drive and just keep your SATA.
Install OS in SATA drive.
shut off computer and install IDE drive.
Your BIOS should put your load device priority with SATA first, if not, do it manually.
Then, just transfer files from the old PATA drive to new one. That's how I did it when I upgraded.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 11:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

So S-ATA HDD is better IDE in general? I was looking at the prices and they are very similar
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think he meant MB/ sec instead of Mhz. i rather stick to ATA133, SATA usually run pretty hot and you don't notice much improvement over ATA133 unless it is running at 10,000RPM or faster. you almost always need a HDD cooler. speeze and thermaltake make some good ones. check newegg.com for prices.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default

im a lil confused, but did you set sata on master ? sometimes that works. let us know how you make out.
__________________
Square thing
With Lotsa wires & Thingy\'s
ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 10:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Yes I meant MB/sec (OOPS!) and yes they run a little hot but you don't necessarily need HDD cooler. The speed transfer is not always optimum, 150 is just max bandwidth. Nowadays, with the amount of RAM found in computers, HDD access is not as frequent therefore most poeple won't notice much difference. However, if you use your computer as a server for a LAN network where disk access time is very important or for CAD or any other intensive data storage/retrieving program, then yes you will definitely notice a huge difference. I say, if you have the choice, go with it.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 04:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Ok this is what I found out. In reality if you have a Parallel ATA (IDE) harddrive as a primary and you use a SATA as an alternate so to say then the bios recognizes the the SATA, but doesn't assign a letter for a drive. I had to go into the 'Disk Management' and partition the harddrive in order to assign a letter for windows to recognize it.

If anybody is curious about it read here further.
Partitioning and Formatting Reference Guide
__________________

Forsteen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.