serial ata problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2004, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Default serial ata problem

I have a Western Digital 120gb sata that isn't being recognised by the bios. The motherboard is an asus k8v. I have just a regular 4 pin molex hooked up to it, i was thinking that maybe having a sata power connector would make it work, but i don't know what's up.
__________________

douchebar is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
Default

does it work though, my sata drive doesnt get recognized in the bios, and it works fine.
__________________

SewerBeing is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i have a k8v se deluxe with a WD 120GB HD and it works fine

Have you installed windows/drivers for it?

Also if you have just the K8V model and not SE or deluxe...maybe a bios flash with a newer version could help?

I also have the 4pin molex hooked up to it...you don't need the SATA power
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 09:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Default

the drive works, and i am trying to install windows on it, but windows doesn't recognize it either so it won't install on it. It's the K8V deluxe.
douchebar is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
Default

did you do the hit f6 to install drivers thing???
SewerBeing is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 12:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Use the SATA Driver diskette that came with your mobo. Or an individual controller, if thats what u have!
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 02:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

did you see this?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 03:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

go to ASUS's website

click download

go to your motherboard

download ALL of the drivers related to SATA drives

and when you try to install windows insert all 3 disks

and it should work fine

...it took me awhile too especially since i put in the floppy cable upside down and it wouldn't read the disk
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.