Sempron 64 or Athlon XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 12:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Sempron 64 or Athlon XP?

I was wondering which processor would be better for a computer that's just going to be dedicated to playing music, and some videos.

My options are a Athlon XP 2600+ (Barton Core) or any Sempron 64.

Would the Sempron 64 be of benifit because it's 64-bit? I figure some of the lower Sempron 64's won't be competition for the Athlon XP 2600+, but would say the 3000+ or the 3100+ be a performance difference?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ID go with the sempron its 64 bit so will be good for the future and is a nice little runner go for an AMD sempron 64 3000+ faster clock speed , bigger FSB but id wait for other opinions before buying i could be completly wrong
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok I think I might change my mind lol they seem pretty equal and not much difference. The sempron 64 does have a built in memory controller. It also depends on your motherboard if you have socket A go with the xp if you have 754 then go with sempron 64. Although i doubt theres much difference if your on a budget. If you have some extra money you can buy a socket 939 with an althon 64 3000+ venice core its not that expensive.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Sempron 64 or Athlon XP?

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
I figure some of the lower Sempron 64's won't be competition for the Athlon XP 2600+.

Those little sempron's actually kick some but,I'm running a 2600+ Sempron @ 2.1ghz and in Sandra bench's it score's right up there with 3200+ cpu's
Shumway is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well I don't want to overclock. Will the 64-bit extenstions give the Sempron a big boost over the Athlon XP for my media PC?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

it depends, you wont have windows 64 yet and i doubt many will bother, few games are 64 so I dont think it will make a huge difference at the moment. And by the time every application is 64 and games you will probably need to upgrade your whole pc anyway.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well I'm not really too worried about it being 64-Bit, but from the knowledge that I have, I thought that the AMD CPU's with 64-bit extensions have higher performance than ones with only 32-bit. The computer is going to be only used to play music and movies to my current surround sound setup. I just want to know, which processor will give me the overall best performance.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Go with the sempron 64 then its the same as the athlon xp really just for 64 bit programs, and if thats all your doing it`ll work just fine have fun hope iv helped if at all
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Yeah, I'm planning on going with the Sempron 64, but I got one more question. Which Sempron 64 would you recommend?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

it depends what motherboard you have if its socket 754 then get sempron 64 3000+ i dont no whats available for socket A i think you can get a 2800+ for that socket.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.