Seeking PSU Tutorial - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2005, 08:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Yes Chankama, the power rating on the OCZ is the continous output, which is 450 watts, and 550 is the peak load.

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75

So if the RMS is 450w, what's the point of having/knowing a peak of 550w? You can only put up to 450w of components into the machine, anyway. What's that extra "possible" 100w going to do for you?

Jonathan Bones is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

hmmm.. I don't know if "RMS" (Root mean square of signal) is the proper term for this here - wrt to the peak wattage and the sustainable wattage. Even tho, I've been guilty of using it now and then . For a constant amplitude sine wave, the RMS value and peak value are governed by a constant relationship as we all know. So in that context, knowing one implies the other.

In this case, saying RMS=450 W and saying the peak voltage is 550 W is not really accurate as both WOULD relay the same information if it was the case IMO. I think what it really means is that the PSU can maintain a sustainable power output of 450 W for all time (either RMS or peak - whatever the components are measured at also, i.e. RMS or peak). Whereas, the 550 W is not really related to 450 W, but is simply the "peak" output that can be provided in an "emergency" so to speak.

While the power supply is 450 W, some people "can" have components that can go over this. e.g. 510 W. How often will a person be playing Doom 3, doing signal processing, writing to all the hard disks, running some crap with all the USB devices, AND reading some junk from the floppy disk, AND the CD Rom, while surfing the net :s.. Chances are not often. So the 510 W will not be used often. So 450 W supply would be sufficient. In the event all these events happen at once for a "little" while, the 550 W max PSU can handle it.

That's what I think.

Correction are welcome .
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Just treat it like a sound system in a car, a subwoofer can only handle its peak power for a few seconds or it will damage it and the amp......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by gaara

Also, as mentioned, you want good strong current on your rails, which is measured in amps. Basically, the higher the better, and you'll want a minimum of 18amps on your 12v rail (as you may have guessed your 12v rail is the most important one). The more amps, the more powerful your rail becomes and the more juice it can deliver to components faster. I would recommend at least 22amps today for anyone seriously investing in their machine however.

Remeber the 12volt rail amperage has a direct relation to the wattage,

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

just recently I had to replace a 300W PSU with a stronger 400W one
my PC would run with the 300W PSU, but it caused problems
a few times it spontaneously restarted (screen went black, and went back to the POST)
it caused lots of the files on my hard drive to become corrupt
I even had to reinstall Windows

this is why you need a good PSU
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

I should tell my story of a cheap PSU taking out a p3 systemlike apoclypises, except a p3 500 (first p3) and a much better card

Mouse, KB and monitor survived

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.