Second HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2008, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 75
Default Second HDD

A friend just gave me a Hitachi 250GB ATA/IDE HDD that came out of a Sony VAIO. My intentions are to buy a HDD enclosure, and make a portable drive for my laptop. I first want to check it to make sure it works before I buy the enclosure. I have a P4 desktop with a SATA 120gb. Since I've never done this before, I just want to make sure I do it right. I'll set the jumpers on the second drive to slave, then hook it up, go into bios and set it as a slave. Will there be any problems since the master is a SATA and the slave is IDE?? The slave supposedly has XP on it, will that be a problem initially?? All I want to do is see if the drive works and see if anything on the drive I can use(there is also a video capture card that was on the VAIO I want to use), then reformat and put my XP on it.

If I've forgotten something please feel free to chime in. Also any advice will be appreciated.


odie072 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Second HDD

Sata drives don't need master/slave jumper configurations.

As for IDE... it depends if you have any other devices connected to the same IDE slot. eg. like a dvd drive. etc.

If there are no other devices connected on the same cable, than set it to master. If there are other devices, most likely that other device will already be set to master and you'll need to set your hard drive to slave.

brinks is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Second HDD

I think all you have to worry about is matching your drive enclosure to the drive, ie., just making sure the case can support the drive, which should be very very easy to determine

also it does not really matter the slave/master that, you can set them up so you don't have to fiddle with bios...or leave them be and fiddle with bios settings
atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 11:00 AM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 01:04 AM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 08:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 07:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 09:35 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.