Second HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2008, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 75
Default Second HDD

A friend just gave me a Hitachi 250GB ATA/IDE HDD that came out of a Sony VAIO. My intentions are to buy a HDD enclosure, and make a portable drive for my laptop. I first want to check it to make sure it works before I buy the enclosure. I have a P4 desktop with a SATA 120gb. Since I've never done this before, I just want to make sure I do it right. I'll set the jumpers on the second drive to slave, then hook it up, go into bios and set it as a slave. Will there be any problems since the master is a SATA and the slave is IDE?? The slave supposedly has XP on it, will that be a problem initially?? All I want to do is see if the drive works and see if anything on the drive I can use(there is also a video capture card that was on the VAIO I want to use), then reformat and put my XP on it.

If I've forgotten something please feel free to chime in. Also any advice will be appreciated.

odie072
__________________

odie072 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Second HDD

Sata drives don't need master/slave jumper configurations.

As for IDE... it depends if you have any other devices connected to the same IDE slot. eg. like a dvd drive. etc.

If there are no other devices connected on the same cable, than set it to master. If there are other devices, most likely that other device will already be set to master and you'll need to set your hard drive to slave.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 06:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Second HDD

I think all you have to worry about is matching your drive enclosure to the drive, ie., just making sure the case can support the drive, which should be very very easy to determine

also it does not really matter the slave/master part...in that, you can set them up so you don't have to fiddle with bios...or leave them be and fiddle with bios settings
atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.