Are Seagate HD's good, cause I need a HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2004, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default Are Seagate HD's good, cause I need a HD

Yeah I need a HD of course Im building my own comp

So I want reliablility, Not Speed or whatever but fast enough to get it done

seagate barrcuda's look good, is seagate any good

my friends seagate is good he says

if not reccomend some Hd's for me plz

thxz
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I have a western digital, it's great, I would also reccomend a seagate, but stay away from maxtor is what i've heard here on the forums.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

what i generally here is... seagate and westerndigital are good.

i dont judge maxtor personaly cuase i dont now any of the facts and never owned one, but i here that maxtors are less reliable.

i do not have a clue about hitachi or others etc. if some one posted any compents on those brands, it would be helpfull.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 07:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

i have a seagate...nice and fast and neva had n e problems
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 07:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

most seagates are pretty quiet
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Seagate is the leading Hard-Drive producer as far as quality, service, dependability, lifespan, and noise, are concerned.

They can sometimes cost a little more, but it's money worth spent. I've never had a Seagate drive fail for normal reasons. (I drowned one in lemon cello once, by accident, and I've dropped a couple on hard floors...also by accident...Other than that, they've always ran true.)
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default

not much more money for the seagates...........and look at the warranty.
vstk is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

I have WD and Seagate, both silent and efficent.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
seagate has an independant source of data. much more effective than your average hard drive.
independant source of data?? more effective then average HD??(witch HD are u refering to as average??) please explain.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

he's banned
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.