seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb**SOLVED** CLOSE THREAD** - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2008, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb**SOLVED** CLOSE THREAD**

i have been looking at this drive for a few days now and was wondering what type of connection is it? (ex.sata, sata 2)

Also i want to know ur guys opinion on it for an os drive. I'm really considering picking one up for my next upgrade (which will be in like 2 months.)

NCIX.com - Buy Seagate Cheetah 15K.5 73GB 15000 RPM Ultra 320 SCSI 80PIN U320 Hard Drive - ST373455LC In Canada.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb

Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), Ultra320 SCSI, 2-Gb/s and 4-Gb/s Fibre channel interfaces
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb

wow that was fast lol.

will i need anything special to use one of these drives?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb

A really expensive SAS card...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb

Thats what i though. well that sucks. Thanks.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 04:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: seagate cheetah 15k.5 73gb

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
A really expensive SAS card...
My motherboard came with 2 SAS ports *gloats*

I was thinking about getting a 15k RPM drive myself. The problem is, the drives themselves can cost a significant amount.

I think the Seagate 15k.6 drives should be significantly faster than the 15k.5 drives.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am boycotting Seagate (long sorry) dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2008 05:27 AM
Seagate HDD jumper trouble DJ EndurancE System Upgrades 8 02-09-2008 03:25 PM
Seagate Class Action Lawsuit Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 21 10-23-2007 10:19 PM
y r the prices of these HDDs differ from Seagate? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-17-2007 11:06 AM
Seagate Prepping 1TB Barracuda maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 04:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.