SCSI Costs? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2004, 02:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

speed is in the transfer not the RPMs of the drive. That is just access. SCSI's major use is within RAID arrays where you can have a RAID5 array with 14 drives running at 15000RPM It offers amazing access speeds and very fast write. but you could never afford that for personal use. That is why companies have to spend hundreds of thousands on servers.
Also, the controller is based on the interface speed you want. There are scsi 320, 160, and older. the number means the data thoughput. IE 320 MB/sec 160 MB/sec Max Burst
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 02:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Seriously, dude. The SCSI drives aren't going to show you THAT much of a boost. A very good ATA drive, or a SATA drive, will offer you good speed and higher capacity for less bucks. If you're having speed issues, just upgrading your HDD won't solve your problems. Check your RAM, Proc, and Mobo, too. If you have a crappy little bit of RAM, or a slow Proc, yer gonna load slow regardless of how fast your HDD is.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 03:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

get a raptor 10k
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 03:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

actually ShoobieRat, if he plays games that are totally based on hard drive files, he will see the difference.

the thing is he isn't going to need it unless he's playing top of the line games, with hardware that is also top of the line. get a sata raptor drive like koldapu, that combines sata and scsi, well almost.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 04:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

the only reason you would need SCSI is if you have a server or network or something like that
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 04:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

thats true, or if u have an insane amount of money and not afraid to spend it on pc.

thats how i know u'll see a performance difference with the scsi, i have crazy friends ok.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.