scroll mouse - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 03:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Unhappy scroll mouse

Hi
Have recenly installed XP and Outlook 2002 onto my folks PC, and my dad is giving me hell because his fancy Logitech scrolling mouse isn't scrolling at one particular point that he advises used to, previously had win95 and an older version of Outlook.
When sending a new email, and he opens up the contacts list the mouse scrolling function fails to work! Any ideas?

PS I have tested this with PCs at work with win XP and 2000 using Outlook 2002 and agree with him that it doesn't work, but can't prove that it did! Strange that the scroll function doesn't work here!!
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

it should scroll anywhere there is a bar.

sometimes you have to click in the area that you want to scroll. does it work for everything else?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

thnx 4 reply....

Yes, it works everywhere else, it isn't a problem with the mouse.

Yes, click in the area where there is a bar there and it should work, but it doesn't!

It doesn't work on PCs at my work either, all now using XP and Outlook 2002.

IS IT A BUG IN OUTLOOK 2002?
AM INTERESTED IN RESOLVING THIS!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

possibly. i know exactly what you mean though. i installed xp on my granfather's computer and he obsesses over the little things and i just don't have time for it. i suppose you could try looking for a specific driver even though xp recognises it
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

LOL....know what you mean re obsesses with the little things!!

But in fairness to my dad, at the location he mentioned using the mouse is the best option, as the window is small and unexpandable.

Do you mean driver for the mouse? I am using manufacturers driver purchased with it!

Bearing in mind I have noted the same problem at work on multiple PCs using different mice......surely this points to a bug in Outlook 2002?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

it could be that you have to click and drag up and down to mave the page
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

No, that makes a multiple selection.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

have you tried and see if your mouse mfg have updated there drivers?

do you have office 2003? or officexp?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Will investigate updated drivers, but don't think this is the solution as it works elsewhere satisfactorily.

Not sure why you are asking if I have office 2003 or officexp?
Firstly the version of Outlook 2002 discussed was installed from Office XP discs. I use Outlook 2003 at work and it is significantly different and believe that this would not suit my father.
NOTE - Outlook 2003 doews not suffer from the problem suggested in this thread.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

does the autoscroll function work? i mean the mouse wheel click
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.