Screenie As Promised: 106º!! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 02:54 PM   #31 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

you know what, i bet your right. I'm not home right now, but i know for a fact that if i touch the heatsink it wont burn me. I can almost bet money that it is my new HD (WD 200gb). I have a 6.5 gb seagate (used for backups) and a brand new western digital 200gb. They are right next to each other (no slots in between them), so i bet they are heating each other up and causing this. The seagate is only used in the wee hours of the morning for backup schedules, so i bet its the 200gb heating up and also heating up the seagate.

I have a question about that anyway; is my 6.5gb causing underperformance of my 200gb? I dont know how many rpms the 6.5gb runs at, but i do know that the 200gb is 7,200 rpms. Should i ditch the 6.5gb and just keep my backups on the new drive? I DO NOT want to partition the 200gb, so dont suggest it.

The only thing i just realized, when i pointed that spare fan at the cpu, the two high temps went down, so it may not be the HD's. I dont know!
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:23 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

6.5gb HDDs still exist? LOL

Your HDDs won't produce enough heat to push a processor heat sensor into the 106 degree range. You've got a funky motherboard. Replace it.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 04:08 PM   #33 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

no no no... i think the high temps are coming from the sensors in the HD, not the HD causing that temp.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 09:04 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Your HDD has heat sensors? That's weird.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 09:16 PM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Your HDD has heat sensors? That's weird.
Most HD's have them now
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:00 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I don't think your hard drive would be 106 either, hard drives run efficently in the 40 degree range, once a hard drive heats up, the chance of failure dramatically increases. I don't think your hard drive would work properly at 106.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:41 PM   #37 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

to heck with it. It still works like a champ so what do i care?!
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:05 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

the exhaust on the psu wont be nearly enough. you need air convection carrying off excess heat. imagine it like this. its a hot day. you put a fan infront of the window bringing some cooler air in by putting a fan in one window to bring air in and create a nice breeze by placing one at a window on the other side of the room. creates a nice cross breeze. Now, take the same setup but instead of a window have on facing a wall and another pulling in air from a radiator. now your just blowing hot air on yourself.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:11 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

no i think speedfan is screwed up
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:01 AM   #40 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

I know about cooling... i just dont have time nor money to work on my computer. I'm barely home. Most of the time i'm posting in between classes.

Grimreaper- i've used NUMEROUS programs and they all say the same temps. Its not speedfan... its my heat sensors.
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.