Screen resolution won't fit monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2015, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Uganda
Posts: 4
Default Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

Alright, so my laptop screen has been severely cracked for over two years (so badly that I can't use the left portion of the screen and also some of the right side). I have been using external monitors or televisions with hdmi inputs since it broke and have run into few problems. I recently moved and got all new stuff including a tv. Currently the tv is the only thing I have that I can use as an external monitor.

My problem lies in the resolution. There is no resolution available that will fit the screen. Most of them are far too wide and long, so much that portions of my desktop are "hanging off" of the screen, and the others are so small I can't really see anything... Any ideas?
__________________

Wileyy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

What's the native resolution of your TV?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

After you power up the laptop, close the lid. I have an HP G7 that if you leave the lid open the desktop doesn't fit correctly on the TV screen. If I close it, it resizes the desktop to fit.

Of course you'll have to use an external keyboard and mouse.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Uganda
Posts: 4
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

I'm not sure what the native resolution is. Is there a way to find that out? I tried closing the lid but it did not automatically resize to the screen.
Wileyy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wileyy23 View Post
I'm not sure what the native resolution is. Is there a way to find that out? I tried closing the lid but it did not automatically resize to the screen.
Post the brand/model of the laptop.

Could just be that you need to adjust the overscan settings for the TV.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 04:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

What are you connecting to the TV with?
What brand name and model is the laptop?
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 04:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
After you power up the laptop, close the lid. I have an HP G7 that if you leave the lid open the desktop doesn't fit correctly on the TV screen. If I close it, it resizes the desktop to fit.

Of course you'll have to use an external keyboard and mouse.
If the screen res matches up, then what seti suggested could be the reason.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 08:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Uganda
Posts: 4
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

It's an hp g72 and how do I even access over scan settings on my tv? I can't find anything like that in any of the menu settings. The tv brand is element. That's about all I know about it. It doesn't seem very new either it's probably around the same age as my laptop
Wileyy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 09:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

Do you have the Intel Graphics Control Panel installed?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 09:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Uganda
Posts: 4
Default Re: Screen resolution won't fit monitor?

No i dont I didnt even know that there was a control panel i had to install. I sort of assumed my laptop would come equipped with that. can you provide a link please? Also it could have something to do with the overscan setting on my tv which i cant find anywhere even in the factory settings menu.... i have windows 8.1 installed... is this possibly a part of the problem? I have been reading a bit and it seems a lot of people cant find the gpu control panel on it... screw windows 8.1
__________________

Wileyy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to preset Resolution of HDMI connected monitor before switching to the monitor? hammer1200 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 08-22-2012 02:43 AM
Changing monitor refresh rate/resolution - with out screen? Trifid Microsoft Windows and Software 10 07-28-2007 06:36 AM
monitor screen resolution problem anewmmafan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-06-2007 01:32 AM
Monitor won't fit full screen? Help! Aphrika Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-09-2006 07:39 AM
heat sink won't fit? SSB Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2005 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.