Screen randomly goes blank - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2004, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default Screen randomly goes blank


I seem to have developed a problem with my CRT lately. My computer has been running fine for a couple of years now but recently the screen has started to go blank at random times.

Turning it off and then back on doesn't fix it. Unplugging it from the computer and then reattaching the cable doesn't fix it.

The only way to get it working again is to reboot the computer.

I have swapped to another CRT but the problem remains, so it's probably nothing to do with the screen. My next trick will be to try another graphics card.

Has anyone had or heard of this problem before?

GP is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to jon15n

what type of video card do you have, and are you entirely sure the drivers for it are properly installed?

Intel P4 2.8GHz H/T
1.5GB PC2700
160GB HD
Windows XP Professional
jon15n is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51

Have you swapped your cable
loner is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 02:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

maybe the video card is getting bumped out of the socket or something.
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Screen isssues

I am having the same problem, and it is with my Laptop. Unsure, of the problem, thanks for any help.
bjs1481 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

maybe your power cable on the monitor is sensitive, or your monitor is on standby.

go to the display properties, click the screen saver tab, and check your power options.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Ok, I found the problem...

My motherboard went bad....After opening it up, I found a loose connection where the Hard Drive plugs into the board. Any movement caused the computer to turn off, only simulating the screen going blank.


bjs1481 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.